Surrey/Delta residents lauded for making a difference

(Clockwise from top) Amrik Singh Aulakh, Jason Min, Morgan Leung and Lawrence Haiducu are among 34 recipients of the 2014 B.C. Community Achievement Awards. -
(Clockwise from top) Amrik Singh Aulakh, Jason Min, Morgan Leung and Lawrence Haiducu are among 34 recipients of the 2014 B.C. Community Achievement Awards.
— image credit:

A handful of residents from Surrey and Delta have been named among this year's recipients of the B.C. Community Achievement Awards.

The awards recognize individuals who have made significant contributions through their jobs or volunteer work.

Morgan Leung, a Grade 12 student from Delta, was chosen for her dedication to helping others. She is not only a top youth fundraiser for the B.C. and Yukon Heart and Stroke Foundation, but volunteers to teach ballet and has helped develop several charitable programs in her schools.

Surrey's Lawrence Haiducu was recognized for his dedication to community. He is chair of UBC Medicine's Wellness Initiative Network, founder of a project to educate Grade 10 students about sun protection and a past leader of Harmony in Action, a cultural support group.

Amrik Singh Aulakh, who's also a Surrey resident, became a volunteer of the Surrey Crime Prevention Society in 1998, active on Citizens on Patrol, Counter Attack and Speed Attack. Since 2007, Aulakh has served as an auxiliary constable with Surrey RCMP.

Delta's Jason Min was recognized for his contribution of pharmacy practice and education in B.C. He and Larry Leung co-founded Clinicare Pharmacists and are lecturers at UBC's Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences who have developed innovative patient care service programs working together with other health care providers and particularly, within First Nations communities.

An independent advisory council selects the Community Achievement Award winners. This year there were 34 winners.

"As British Columbians, we are inspired by those in our communities who make a difference by their efforts,” said Premier Christy Clark.

The recipients will be recognized at a formal event in Victoria on April 29, where each will receive a certificate and medallion designed by artist Robert Davidson.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Surrey murder victim identifed as Jaylen Sandhu, 17
Cloverdale Arena turns into winter wonderland
Amid the ruins, a feast
Eight best designated driver stories from ICBC (with video)
Help bring Surrey Dad home for Christmas
Cold paws, warm hearts
Agassiz Secondary Bottle Drive
Being Jacob Marley
Photo: Public comes through for Kim Snow

Community Events, December 2014

Add an Event

Read the latest eEdition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Dec 18 edition online now. Browse the archives.